Haul of America: Get ready for camping!

I don’t want to come off as uber precious and whiny, but I’m not crazy about camping. The few experiences I did have camping growing up were pretty terrible (sleep deprivation, tornado season in Oklahoma…ya know, good wholesome fun) so it’s been off my radar as an adult. I stay away from camping and camping stays away from me. Yay for autonomy!

wpid-img_0091.jpg
This is my guy. Look how happy he is with that fish 🙂 We’re gonna eat this fish tonight!

The only thing is, I started dating this really great guy from Spanish Fork, UT about 2 years ago and he kinda loves camping. He’s a Wildland Firefighter so he basically goes camping for a living. It’s kind of really very very important to him that we be able to share this kind of experience together.

So, because he is one of the best human beings I’ve ever known, and because I kind of really love him a lot we’re going down to Zion National Park this weekend! There will be s’mores! There will be breathtaking views! There will be an air mattress (Thank sweet baby Jesus)! It’s going to be amazing we both hope. Anyway, obviously, because I never camp I needed some supplies and since I didn’t want to make a trip to a ton of different stores I sucked it up and decided to make a rare trip to Walmart.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Walmart (or, for you Southern ladies, Wally World) it’s about the most American place you can shop. It’s a melting pot of diversity and cheap stuff assembled in sweatshops. By choosing to support your local Walmart you’ll enjoy the benefits of supporting the growing wage gap, increasing dependence on public assistance, and getting rid of small businesses everywhere! You’ve pretty much got to turn your morality all the way down and your ignorance all the way up to get through the experience. That’s why no one you encounter there has any sense of public boundaries or personal space. Now that I write it out, I’m starting to feel worse that I didn’t just go to a few more places….Every time I go, I think, “THIS IS THE LAST TIME.”

But because I was shopping at the most American place I know and nothing is more American than our gorgeous national parks, I figured it was a good opportunity to do a Haul of America *yeehaw*. So, here goes:

Cosmetics:

  1. Maybelline New York Brow Drama brow mascara in Deep Brown – I wanted to be able to take this camping  to beef up my brows on the go with minimal effort, but my trial runs were really disappointing. I have very special brow needs and this does not address them in a meaningful way. I’ll probably still bring it, but I made sure to wax and tint my brows yesterday so I wouldn’t only have this to depend on.
  2. Maybelline New York Waterproof Ultra Liner – I haven’t tried this one yet, but the length of the brush isn’t too long so it looks like I’ll have a good amount of control. I don’t normally use waterproof cosmetics (especially around my eyes) so we’ll see if I like it or not.
  3. Covergirl TruBlend Fixstick in Fair – I primarily bought this because I use these two huge compacts of Cover Effects as my highlighter & concealer. I wanted something more compact that I could blend with my finger quickly. I tried it out today and it’s probably going to be a travel makeup bag favorite!
  4. L.A. Colors Color Craze in Frill (NP537) – I tried so hard to edit this color to  look anything like it does in real life…for some reason I always have trouble making neons look true to color during editing. But, it’s this hot bubble gummy neon…I can’t decide if I’m going to wear it camping this weekend yet.
  5. Pure Ice in Wear Red (1062) – I can’t decide what color this is–just that I love it! It’s almost red, almost pink, almost orange and I’m sure what it looks like depends on what you’re wearing with it. You’ll definitely see this make an appearance during the summer months.
  6. Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in Lively Lilac (420) – I am wearing this right now!!!! And if you read my Polish of the Week posts you know that I like it a lot. Although it’s already chipping on my right index finger so that’s slightly disappointing.
  7. Sally Hansen Hard as Nails in Hard Bitten (365) – This is that light blue I’ve been meaning to buy. I don’t know when this’ll make an appearance, but it probably won’t be too long.

 

haul of america hygieneHygiene:

  1. Equate Citrus Scent Antibacterial Hand Wipes – I have hand sanitizer too, but there is something about physically wiping grime off your skin that’s second only to washing your hands.
  2. Sunglasses – I already cut the tags off of these glasses but they didn’t have much branding on them. One of the tags just said “Trend” which probably means it’s one of those items they want to trick either middle schoolers or grandparents of middle schoolers into buying. Lucky for them, I never spend more than $5 on sunglasses and I also happen to think they’re cool. (These ones have an awesome rainbow-mirrored effect).
  3. Burts Bees Facial Cleansing Towelettes – I tried one of these the first night I bought them. I’m not big on using wipes for every day cleansing or makeup removal not because they’re harsh or bad for you in any way, but because they come out to be way more expensive than a liquid cleanser. But for camping, I know I’m not going to want to splash tundra-cold water from a communal bathroom sink on my face, use paper to dry my skin after inevitably forgetting my towel at the campsite, and try to wash fast enough that I’m not holding up the line (lesson learned from the last crappy camping experience). These were so soft and they smelled like some unidentifiable herbal blend.
  4. Coppertone Clearly Sheer For Beach and Pool Continuous Spray Sunscreen – I’ve tried another Clearly Sheer product that was a favorite of mine last summer (Clearly Sheer Faces for Sunny Days) so I figured I’d give this one a try too.
  5. Coleman Insect Repellent Skin Smart – I didn’t even realize that you were still allowed to use DEET until I saw it as an ingredient in most of the hard-core insect repellents.  Fortunately, since the weather isn’t supposed to be too warm (mid 60s) I figured we’d be fine to get something less harsh.
  6. Psssst! Instant Dry Shampoo – I’ve been needing to replenish my dry shampoo and for some reason I couldn’t find any of the fancy good-smelling kind to try (thanks, Obama). I found this in the camping section and figured it’d be alright to test out the classics this time around.
  7. Sunglasses – The same $5 sunglasses with the same cryptic “Trend” tag on them, only these are leopard print. I’m not normally big on animal print, but in small doses it can be perfect.
  8. Equate Flushable Wipes – In case I need to wipe something that’s not my hands…
  9. Banana Boat Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion (Light/Medium Color) – That’s right! I’m attempting a reprieve from my signature pale complexion and see how a fake tan suits me. I also bought another self-tanning foam from Jergens so you might be seeing a review post about that soon. I tried it last night on my face and it smelled heavenly! I also really like the color so I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship…

haul of america tools

Tools:

  1. Ozark Trail 20 Lumens LED Mini-Headlamp – When I asked Dalton about what kind of flashlight I should get he said he was just going to bring a headlamp. I thought I had one lying around somewhere that my sister, Tortilla, gave me but I couldn’t find it. I liked this one because it looked like the battery lasted a while and the lights point down instead of right into people’s eyes. I think it’s gonna be real nice.
  2. Misty Mate Arctic Tie – I bought this for Dalton because he showed me an old one he’d had for a while. Apparently he loved it, but he didn’t feel comfortable wearing it anymore because it had a confederate flag on it. I get it. You get a pretty watered-down version of The Civil War when you grow up in certain states… This one is just blue! And who doesn’t like blue? It’s filled with a gel-polymer that cools when you get it wet and also holds moisture to keep you comfy in the heat.
  3. Life Gear LED Lantern – I primarily bought this so I could creep around our camp looking like the cover of a Nancy Drew mystery.
  4. Life Gear Carabiner Light – I actually forgot I had this in the basket. When I saw it, I thought, “Dammit! Now I have to go back and return this.” But I thought about it for a while and I actually like the idea of it. I’m gonna dangle it off of my belt loop or something.

Whew! Well, that’s it for my Haul of America (or my Haulmart). I think I’m pretty well prepared at this point, but if you outdoorsy ladies have anything you don’t leave home without I’d love any advice you have to offer. Thanks for reading and I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

4 thoughts on “Haul of America: Get ready for camping!

Leave a Reply

